Academy Award Nominated Actress Carey Mulligan, Actor Joel Edgerton, Director Adam McKay, Screenwriters Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer and Animated Film "Inside Out" by Pete Docter to be Honored at The "19th Annual Hollywood Film Awards®&quo

Awards Ceremony to Take Place Sunday, November 1, 2015 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel

HOLLYWOOD, Calif., Oct. 12, 2015 — (PRNewswire) — dick clark productions announced today that Academy Award-nominated actress Carey Mulligan will be honored with the "Hollywood Actress Award" for Suffragette; Actor Joel Edgerton will receive the "Hollywood Breakout Actor Award" for Black Mass; director Adam McKay will receive the "Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award" for The Big Short; screenwriters Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer will be honored with the "Hollywood Screenwriter Award" for Spotlight and the animated film Inside Out, directed by Pete Docter will receive the "Hollywood Animation Award."

The "19th Annual Hollywood Film Awards" will take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, on November 1, 2015. The Hollywood Film Awards, the official launch of the awards season®, has recognized excellence in the art of cinema and filmmaking for 18 years, honoring some of the world's biggest stars. More than one hundred honorees have gone on to garner Oscar nominations and wins.

Mulligan will receive the "Hollywood Actress Award" for her role as Maud Watts in the Focus Features film, Suffragette. As Watts, Mulligan leads the early feminist movement in the United States, also starring Meryl Streep and Helena Bonham Carter.

Joel Edgerton will receive the "Hollywood Breakout Actor Award" for his performance in Black Mass, directed by Scott Cooper and featuring an ensemble cast, also including Johnny Depp, Benedict Cumberbatch, Rory Cochrane, Jesse Plemons, Dakota Johnson, Julianne Nicholson, Kevin Bacon, Corey Stall and Peter Sarsgaard. Exposing the biggest scandal in FBI history, Black Mass tells of the unholy alliance between ruthless mobster James "Whitey" Bulger (Depp) and childhood friend-turned-FBI agent, John Connolly (Edgerton).

"Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award" recipient Adam McKay, has directed comedies like Step Brothers, and Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy, but has also been receiving critical acclaim for his new film, The Big Short, starring Brad Pitt, Christian Bale, Ryan Gosling, Steve Carell and more. The film centers around four people in the world of high-finance who predicted the bubble collapse of the mid-2000s.

Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer will be honored with the "Hollywood Screenwriter Award" for their script, Spotlight.  Based on the true story, the film tells the tale of how the Boston Globe uncovered the scandal of child molestation and cover-up within the Catholic Archdiocese. The film stars Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber, Mark Ruffalo and Michael Keaton.

Finally, the "Hollywood Animation Award" will be accepted by Inside Out director Pete Docter. The Pixar family film received rave reviews by children and adults and stars Amy Poehler, Bill Hared, Lewis Black and Mindy Kaling.

Previously announced honorees for this year's show include:

  • Robert De Niro - "Hollywood Career Achievement Award,"
  • Furious 7 - "Hollywood Blockbuster Award,"
  • Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth - "Hollywood Song Award" for their hit "See You Again" from the Furious 7 soundtrack,
  • Asif Kapadia - "Hollywood Documentary Award" for Amy,
  • Tom Hooper - "Hollywood Director Award" for The Danish Girl,
  • Benicio Del Toro - "Hollywood Supporting Actor Award" for Sicario,
  • Saoirse Ronan - "New Hollywood Award" for Brooklyn,
  • Alicia Vikander for the "Hollywood Breakout Actress Award" for The Danish Girl,
  • Cast of Straight Outta Compton: Corey Hawkins, O'Shea Jackson Jr. & Jason Mitchell - "Hollywood Breakout Ensemble Award,"
  • Amy Schumer - "Hollywood Comedy Award" for Trainwreck,
  • Janusz Kaminski - "Hollywood Cinematography Award," for Bridge of Spies,
  • Alexandre Desplat - "Hollywood Film Composer Award" for The Danish Girl and Suffragette,
  • David Rosenbloom -"Hollywood Editor Award" for Black Mass,
  • Tim Alexander -"Hollywood Visual Effects Award" for Jurassic World,
  • Gary Rydstrom - "Hollywood Sound Award" for Bridge of Spies,
  • Sandy Powell - "Hollywood Costume Design Award" for Cinderella,
  • Lesley Vanderwalt - "Hollywood Make-Up & Hair Styling Award" for Mad Max: Fury Road,
  • Colin Gibson - "Hollywood Production Design Award" for Mad Max: Fury Road.

Additional honorees are set to be announced at a later date.

Academy Award nominated actress Carey Mulligan is one of Hollywood's most versatile actresses. She is widely known for her role in An Education which garnered her multiple award nominations. In 2014, she made her West End stage debut starring alongside Bill Nighy and Matthew Beard in a revival of David Hare's Olivier Award-winning play Skylight, directed by Stephen Daldry. This year, the same team reconvened to stage the production on Broadway, for which Mulligan received Drama League, Drama Desk and Tony Award nominations. This October, Mulligan will star in Suffragette, directed by Sarah Gavron. The film chronicles the true story of the foot soldiers of the early feminist movement in England – women who were forced underground to pursue a dangerous game of cat and mouse with an increasingly brutal State. Mulligan plays the lead role of Maud opposite Helena Bonham Carter, Anne-Marie Duff and Meryl Streep. Focus Features will release Suffragette on October 23rd, 2015.

Joel Edgerton was born in Blacktown, New South Wales. Edgerton attended the Nepean Drama School in western Sydney before beginning his stage and screen career. Edgerton has appeared in films such as King Arthur, Animal KingdomZero Dark Thirty, The Great Gatsby, Ned Kelly, Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones, Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith, Felony, which he wrote and starred in, Warrior with Tom Hardy, and his most recent role in Black Mass, for which he has received critical praise. Edgerton has been involved with The Sydney Theatre Company throughout his career, where he starred alongside Cate Blanchett in the acclaimed production of A Streetcar Named Desire. August 2015 marked Edgerton's feature directorial debut with The Gift, starring Jason Bateman and Rebecca Hall . Edgerton wrote the script and produced the film, as well as co-starred alongside Bateman and Hall. Early next year, Edgerton will appear in Jeff Nichols' Midnight Special and Gavin O'Connor's Jane Got a Gun. Edgerton is currently in production on Loving , re-teaming with director Nichols .

1 | 2 | 3  Next Page »

Review Article Be the first to review this article

© 2020 Internet Business Systems, Inc.
25 North 14th Steet, Suite 710, San Jose, CA 95112
+1 (408) 882-6554 — Contact Us
ShareCG™ is a trademark of Internet Business Systems, Inc.

Report a Bug Report Abuse Make a Suggestion About Privacy Policy Contact Us User Agreement Advertise